top of page

Setting Up Linux (Ubuntu) on my MAC


My goal is to be able to run Linux on my MacBook Pro using the integrated Intel Graphics card. This particular computer has two graphics chips on the board that are kept totally separate by means of a GMUX that switches a display from one GPU to another. Most dual graphics laptops (basically any other than apple) run the discrete GPU into the integrated chip that is then connected to the display. Apple has decided to change this because it allows them to totally power down the integrated chip when not in use.

In Ubuntu we have managed to switch the GMUX switch from one GPU to the other however the Integrated GPU keeps outputting a black screen. We have discovered that the system is still online and live as it is still possible to connect to my computer via SSH. I have take this issue up with the Linux group "Humbug “and they have been just as confused about this issue as I have. I will not give up on this issue as the advantage of using the Intel card is very power efficient making my battery life go from 3 hours (if lucky) to around 12 hours, along with the laptop remaining much cooler.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • LinkedIn App Icon
bottom of page